Barisan retains Balingian with bigger majority – Bernama

The Barisan Nasional (BN) retained the Balingian state seat in Sarawak with a bigger majority in today's by-election.

Its candidate Yussibnosh Balo, 48, won the seat by a majority of 6,911 votes.

He polled 8,194 votes whereas his opponent, Abdul Jalil Bujang, 55, from PKR, only managed 1,283 votes.

In the state election in 2011, the incumbent, former Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud polled 6,210 votes to win by a majority of 5,154 votes in a three-cornered fight.

He defeated Suriati Abdullah of PKR who obtained 871 votes and independent candidate Datuk Salleh Jafaruddin who garnered 1,056 votes.

The results were announced by Returning Officer Shafrie Saili at Dewan Suarah Mukah here where the vote tallying was done.

Shafrie said there were 146 spoilt votes.

The votes obtained by Yussibnosh increased by 701 as compared to Taib in 2011.

The by-election was called following the resignation of Taib as Balingian assemblyman on February 28. He was subsequently appointed Yang Dipertua Negeri Sarawak. – Bernama, March 29, 2014.


Please refrain from nicknames or comments of a racist, sexist, personal, vulgar or derogatory nature, or you may risk being blocked from commenting in our website. We encourage commenters to use their real names as their username. As comments are moderated, they may not appear immediately or even on the same day you posted them. We also reserve the right to delete off-topic comments