Former chief judge of Malaya among four appointed to judicial appointment commission

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 14 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has agreed to the appointment of former Chief Judge of Malaya Tan Sri Haidar Mohamed Noor and former Federal Court judge Datuk Seri Panglima Sulong Matjeraie as members of the Judicial Appointment Commission effective Feb 10.

According to a press statement issued by the Prime Minister's Office today, also appointed to the commission were Datuk T.Selventhiranathan and Datuk Tee Ah Sing @ Tee Boon Hooi, both former Court of Appeal judges.

The appointments for a two-year term until Feb 9, 2015, were made in accordance with Sub-section 5(1)(f) of the Judicial Appointment Commission Act 2009 (Act 695).

Their appointments to the commission were to replace former Chief Justice Tun Abdul Hamid Mohamad, former Attorney-General Tan Sri Ainum Mohamed Saaid, former Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong and former International Crime Tribunal judge Tan Sri Dr L.C.Vohrah whose terms ended on Feb 9, this year.

"The government records its appreciation and thanks for their services," said the statement. — Bernama