Move to extend validity of Thai-Malaysia border pass

BANGKOK, Dec 11 – The Thai government has agreed to extend the validity of the Thai-Malaysia border pass from six months to one year.

Deputy government spokesman Pakdiharn Himathongkam said the Cabinet meeting today also agreed to extend the period of stay for up to 30 days from seven days previously.

The border pass covers five provinces in Thailand – Songkhla, Satul, Yala, Narathiwat and Pattani, and four states of Malaysia, namely Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis and Perak (Hulu Perak only).

Previously, the radius of travel was limited to 25km from each other’s border.

The border pass is normally issued to residents living near the border areas of both countries and they are allowed to cross each other’s border without a passport.

However, Pakdiharn could not say when the new ruling on the border pass would take effect as the agreement on Thai-Malaysia border crossing would be signed by both countries later. – Bernama


Please refrain from nicknames or comments of a racist, sexist, personal, vulgar or derogatory nature, or you may risk being blocked from commenting in our website . We encourage commenters to use their real names as their username. As comments are moderated, they may not appear immediately or even on the same day you posted them. We also reserve the right to delete off-topic comments