New Tenang rep sworn in

Azahar casts his vote during the Tenang by-election. — Picture by Choo Choy MayAzahar casts his vote during the Tenang by-election. — Picture by Choo Choy MayNUSAJAYA, March 17 — Mohd Azahar Ibrahim, who won the by-election for the Tenang state seat on January 30, took his oath of office as a new member of the Johor State Legislative Assembly today.

He was sworn in before Speaker Datuk Mohd Ali Hassan prior to the State Legislative Assembly sitting which began at 9.30am.

In the by-election for the Tenang state constituency, Mohd Azahar, 39, who is fondly known as “Tok Ai”, won with a 3,707-vote majority when he obtained 6,699 votes to beat the PAS candidate, Normala Sudirman, who polled 2,992 votes.

The by-election was held following the death of incumbent Assemblyman Datuk Sulaiman Taha, 59, on December 17.

With Mohd Azahar’s victory, the Barisan Nasional now has 50 elected representatives in the state assembly, the DAP has four while PAS has two.

Earlier, before the swearing-in ceremony, the state assembly also recorded its condolences on the death of Sulaiman and former Johor mentri besar Datuk Abdul Ajib Ahmad, who died on February 3 following a heart attack.

Abdul Ajib, 64, was MB from 1982 until 1986. — Bernama


Please refrain from nicknames or comments of a racist, sexist, personal, vulgar or derogatory nature, or you may risk being blocked from commenting in our website. We encourage commenters to use their real names as their username. As comments are moderated, they may not appear immediately or even on the same day you posted them. We also reserve the right to delete off-topic comments