PM will announce names of PBB’s candidates for GE, says Abang Johari

KUCHING, Jan 27 — The names of the 14 shortlisted candidates who will represent Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) in the upcoming 13th general election will be announced by Prime Minister and Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, said PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg.

He said the prerogative to reveal whether the present MPs would defend their respective constituencies or be selected to contest other constituencies also lay with the BN chairman.

"I cannot confirm whether the incumbent MPs will look after their constituencies, for the confirmation just wait for the announcement from the Prime Minister," he told reporters after attending a PBB meeting with some of the 14 MPs, at the party's headquarters in Jalan Bako here today.

The meeting which lasted for more than two hours was chaired by Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, who is also the party's president.

In the 2008 general election, PBB won all the 14 parliamentary constituencies it contested, which were Santubong, Petra Jaya, Kota Samarahan, Mambong, Batang Sadong, Batang Lupar, Betong, Tanjung Manis, Igan, Mukah, Kapit, Sibuti, Limbang and Lawas. — Bernama


Please note that you must sign up with before commenting. And, please refrain from comments of a racist, sexist, personal, vulgar or derogatory nature and note that comments can be edited, rewritten for clarity or to avoid questionable issues. As comments are moderated, they may not appear immediately or even on the same day you posted them. We also reserve the right to delete off-topic comments