Zul Noordin lost PAS membership in 2008, says sec-gen

Zulkifli claimed yesterday that he was still a member of PAS. — file picZulkifli claimed yesterday that he was still a member of PAS. — file pic

KUALA LUMPUR, July 7 — Kulim-Bandar Baharu MP Zulkifli Noordin stopped being a PAS member when he joined PKR in 2008, said PAS secretary-general Datuk Mustafa Ali today.

Mustafa told The Malaysian Insider the Islamist party’s constitution provides for automatic dismissal when a member joins another political party.

“According to the PAS constitution, once you join another party, you lose the membership,” he said.

Zulkifli claimed yesterday that he was still a PAS member despite having been sacked from PKR in March for breaching party discipline.

He added that PAS should at least provide him with an official notification letter to indicate that his membership had been revoked.

“There is no need to inform him, he was automatically sacked,” said Mustafa when asked if Zulkifli has been informed.

Zulkifli claimed he has been in PAS since 1997.

In 2004, he contested in Kuala Langat under the Islamist party’s banner but lost to Barisan Nasional’s Datuk Dr Shafie Salleh.

He joined PKR in 2008 when he was fielded in Kulim-Bandar Baharu, where he defeated former Umno Youth deputy chief, Datuk Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir.

Since his admission into the Dewan Rakyat, Zulkifli has become one of the strongest critics of PKR policies, which he claimed had ignored Islamic principles.

He also openly opposed the party’s decision to support the local Christians’ demand to use the word “Allah” to refer to God in the national language, which led to his sacking from PKR.

Upon his dismissal from PKR, all three PAS vice-presidents — Datuk Mahfuz Omar, Salahuddin Ayub and Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man — declared that Zulkifli would not be accepted into PAS for the sake of Pakatan Rakyat (PR) unity.

Zulkifli is now part of the Independent Consensus, a grouping made up of former PKR MPs Datuk Seri Zahrain Hashim (Bayan Baru), Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal), Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri (Bagan Serai) and Wee Choo Keong (Wangsa Maju).


Please refrain from nicknames or comments of a racist, sexist, personal, vulgar or derogatory nature, or you may risk being blocked from commenting in our website . We encourage commenters to use their real names as their username. As comments are moderated, they may not appear immediately or even on the same day you posted them. We also reserve the right to delete off-topic comments